SearchClose.png

The Latest Absence Management Laws You Need to Know

As an employer, keeping up with the ever-changing rules and regulations that encompass Absence Management can be both a frustrating and time-consuming task. This task is magnified and can become quickly overwhelming and unmanageable as a multi-state employer. With Software-as-a-Service technology, companies are better able to stay current and adapt to changing regulations. At Collaborative Solutions, our goal is to help you identify the regulations you need to consider, and devise a plan of action to comply with these changes

New State and Local Sick Time Regulations

Today, an increasing number of states, counties, and municipalities are choosing to adopt paid sick leave laws. Businesses with employees within these jurisdictions are required to provide those workers with paid sick leave at a minimum level as defined by the law.

Here is a summary overview of the requirements that have gone, or will go, into effect during 2017:

Authority

Effective Date

Summary

Minimum Amount of Paid Sick Leave per Year for Full Time Employees

State of Vermont

January 1, 2017

Employees accrue one hour per every 52 hours worked. Accrual will begin upon hire, but employers may impose up to a one-year waiting period before employees may use accrued leave. Accrual and use limits will change in 2019, increasing from 24 hours per year to 40 hours per year.

2017 & 2018: 24 hours

2019: 40 hours

City of San Francisco, CA

January 1, 2017

Change in waiting period to accrue from 90 days to no waiting period. Employees hired on or after January 1, 2017 accrual will begin upon hire.

69.34 hours

City of Santa Monica, CA

January 1, 2017

Leave will accrue at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked and may be used beginning on an employee’s ninety‑first day of employment. The ordinance allows employers to cap the amount of leave employees may accrue; the cap varies based on the size of the employer. Larger employers (those with 26 or more employees) must allow employees to accrue at least 40 hours of leave per year; smaller employers may cap accrual at 32 hours per year. In 2018, these accrual limits will increase to 72 hours and 40 hours, respectively.

2017: 32 or 40 hours

2018: 40 or 72 hours

City of Spokane, WA

January 1, 2017

Leave will accrue at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. Employers may impose a limit on the amount of leave employees use in a given year. Larger employers (those with 10 or more employees) must allow employees to use at least 40 hours of leave per year; smaller employers may limit use to 24 hours per year. Leave may be taken for the standard reasons, as well as for safe leave and for bereavement in the loss of a family member.

24 or 40 hours

State of Arizona

July 1, 2017

For employers with 15 or more employees: Employees must accrue a minimum of one hour of earned paid sick time for every 30 hours worked, but employees are not entitled to accrue or use more than 40 hours of earned paid sick time per year, unless the employer selects a higher limit.

For employers with fewer than 15 employees: Employees must accrue a minimum of one hour of earned paid sick time for every 30 hours worked, but they are not entitled to accrue or use more than 24 hours of earned paid sick time per year, unless the employer sets a higher limit.

Leave will begin to accrue the day after hire (or on the ordinance’s effective date, whichever is later) and may be used 90 days after commencement of employment.

24 or 40 hours

City of Chicago, IL

July 1, 2017

Leave will accrue at the rate of one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked. Leave will begin to accrue the day after hire (or on the ordinance’s effective date, whichever is later) and may be used 180 days after commencement of employment. Employers may generally limit employees’ use of leave to 40 hours per year.

40 hours

City of Minneapolis, MN

July 1, 2017

Leave will accrue at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked. Employers may limit an employee’s accrued leave to 48 hours (80 hours in years of carryover), but there is no limit on how much leave an employee may use in a given year.

48 hours

City of Los Angeles, CA

July 1, 2017 

Employers with 25 or fewer employees are obligated to provide Sick Time Benefits.

Leave will accrue at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked within the geographic boundaries of the city.  Leave will begin to accrue the day after hire (or on the ordinance’s effective date, whichever is later) and may be used 90 days after commencement of employment.  Employers may limit employees’ carryover of leave to 72 hours per year.

 48 hours

City of Berkley, CA

October 1, 2017

Leave will accrue at the rate of one hour for every 30 hours worked for any employee working 2 hours per week.  Accrual in whole hour increments with no fractions up to 48 hours per year.  Leave will begin to accrue the day after hire (or on the ordinance’s effective date, whichever is later) and may be used 90 days after commencement of employment.  Carryover of leave is unlimited up to the to 48 hours per year accrual cap.

48 hours

State of Washington

January 1, 2018

Leave will accrue at the rate of one hour for every 40 hours worked. Leave will begin to accrue the day after hire (or on the ordinance’s effective date, whichever is later) and may be used 90 days after commencement of employment. Employers may limit employees’ carryover of leave to 40 hours per year.

52 hours

How Do You Meet these Regulations?

If you’re unsure how to best comply with the various new requirements, Collaborative can provide guidance and walk you through each step of the process. Our Absence Management consultants are well-versed in the new rules and can advise you on your options, as well as the most beneficial choice for your organization. As Workday’s most-tenured partner, we’ll help you minimize risks, gain efficiencies, and maximize outcomes.

Click the link below to speak with a member of our team for more information on how we can assist you.

 Request a Consultation